Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Everything throws 404 errors

(This post was last modified: 06-26-2018, 12:30 PM by jlarroulet. Edit Reason: added info for clarification )

Hi Everyone!
This is my first post. I'm really new to CodeIgniter (new as in "just downloaded it for the first time") so I have a very rookie question

I uploaded the codeigniter files to my test server (running with nginx+phpfpm). 
According to the general recommendation in the installation instructions page, I moved the application and system directories on level above my web root so it looks pretty much like this:

/home/webuser/my_project/
- /home/webuser/my_project/system/
- /home/webuser/my_project/application/
- /home/webuser/my_project/www/ <--- this is the web root

I modified the main index.php file as follows:
$system_path = '/home/webuser/my_project/system';
$application_folder = '/home/webuser/my_project/application';

After doing that, I tried to access the site on my browser and I got the expected CodeIgniter welcome page (so far so good!), so I thought everything was a-OK.

Here comes the problem: 
According to the default "welcome" controller, the controller is mapped to
mysite.com/index.php/welcome
mysite.com/index.php/welcome/index

but none of the above work (they throw a 404 error). I think I have checked everything, but I can't figure it out.

I can see the codeigniter welcome page at both mysite.com and mysite.com/index.php so I'm almost sure I'm making a really rookie mistake

EDIT: forgot to add, my Nginx configuration points the root to /home/webuser/my_project/www/
If I change to /home/webuser/my_project/ (no /www/), the welcome page keeps working but even the user_guide stops working

Can you please give me a hand? Thanks in advance
Javier

Update:
I managed to get most of CI working by making some changes to my nginx.conf file