Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
My Class Libraries Living Between Methods Calls in Controller

[eluser]CodeIgniterNewbie[/eluser]
Please help me. I am new to PHP and CI.

1. I created class libraries that mimic some of my DB tables (where I have class members/properties that correspond to DB fields). They also have methods that help me with do a number of things (e.g. I have a Birthdate member/property and have a GetAgeInYears method).

2. For each of the above class libraries, I have an associated model for it. The model has basic CRUD operations for each of the class library member/property -- plus a few more methods.

3. In the controller, I want to instantiate one of my class libraries, assign values to its members/properties via some model call, use some of the object's methods, AND STILL HAVE ACCESS TO THAT OBJECT between pages.

I realize the web is stateless, but is there something that CI can do for me (besides sessions, that is)? If not, did I make an architectural mistake by creating class libraries to represent certain DB tables? Should I just put all these methods I tried putting in the class library in the controller instead?

If I end up having to use sessions, do I just store the record ID and keep querying the DB each time I need something from it? That's expensive, isn't it?

Also, right now, some of the methods in my model return associative arrays. I'm a strongly type kind of guy. Should I convert these associative arrays into my objects (using the classes I built) and return that instead?

[eluser]m4rw3r[/eluser]
You can use some type of cache to save those objects and load them from the cache in every request (provided that they exists in the cache).
Then all the properties are saved and used for all requests.
Memcahced can be a good cache: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Memcached .

But what about my methods? I'm not only interested in the properties.