Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
New Code Igniter tutorial series

[eluser]Dam1an[/eluser]
Hi everyone, I'm currently working on a tutorial series for code igniter, of which the first part is now online (direct link)
You can also find the links to all the parts as they appear here
If you like my blog, feel free to subscribe to my RSS .

Thanks guys

[eluser]Drew Barontini[/eluser]
Looks good, man! I'm a relatively new PHP/CI programmer and I'm looking forward to reading through these. Keep it up!

[eluser]Taff[/eluser]
Thanks Dam1an.
I have read a fair bit here on the forums about changing the file structure.
Your tutorial shows me how.

Taff

[eluser]wiredesignz[/eluser]
Ellislab are pretty staunch about the name CodeIgniter being used rather than Code Igniter.

Also your Controller example does not initialize itself, it may work in the example but is misleading for a newbie if they then try to $this->load something.

Other than that.. nice work.

[eluser]Dam1an[/eluser]
I'll be sure to call it CodeIgniter from now on, honest!
Also, I intentionally neglected to mention the constructor, as its not needed at this early stage, but as soon as I start showing how to load libraries/helpers/models etc, I'll obviously introduce it, end explain what/why its used.

Thanks for the comments so far
Be as harsh as you can, as the more you point out, with regard to Codeigniter and the style of the tutorial, the better it will be for everyone.

Cheers

[eluser]Derek Allard[/eluser]
Dam1an, welcome into CodeIgniter - thrilled to see your series, looks like a great start.

[eluser]Dam1an[/eluser]
Got part 2 up now, its a quick intro to .htaccess, and how to use it to get clean URL's

Direct link

The series

I'll hopefully get part 3 up which will start talking about views in the next few days, assuming I'm not too busy with exams

[eluser]Daniel Moore[/eluser]
Dam1an,

Always great to see tutorials up that are needed to help people get up to speed on CodeIgniter.