Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Sign here if you use SQL Server

[eluser]gusa[/eluser]
This thread is not intended to generate a discussion about the pros and cons of using SQL Server. Many of us don't have a choice: no matter whether we like it or not, we must use it.

Having said that, the purpose of this thread is to share experiences about using CI with SQL Server. For instance, I've been using this combination since 2006 and certainly I've faced a lot of issues, and found many solutions and workarounds to make them talk.

Derek Allard thinks that only few people is using SQL Server. As I'm not quite sure about his point of view, I added a poll to this topic.

[eluser]xwero[/eluser]
You are talking about MSSQL not SQL Smile all databases use sql Wink

[eluser]gusa[/eluser]
I work in an international organism called MERCOSUR (South American Regional Economic Organization). I don't know if you have heard of it, but it's a free trade agreement between Argentina, Brasil, Uruguay and Paraguay.

Since 2006 we are developing a Foreign Trade System (called SIM) backed by Code Igniter and SQL Server. Like it or not, SQL Server wasn't a choice. The system is used by thousands of economic operators from all over the world.

We have resolved a lot of issues regarding the unsuccessful (?) marriage between CI and SQL Server, including pagination and error handling, not to mention other issues involving PHP and SQL Server.

Surprisingly (and sadly), when we decided to upgrade from CI 1.5 to 1.6, we found new problems: the new driver is buggy and doesn't allow to execute the simplest T-SQL query.

[eluser]gusa[/eluser]
[quote author="xwero" date="1222285791"]You are talking about MSSQL not SQL Smile all databases use sql Wink[/quote]

of course

[eluser]dcunited08[/eluser]
[quote author="xwero" date="1222285791"]You are talking about MSSQL not SQL Smile all databases use sql Wink[/quote]