Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
10-50k users online

[eluser]Gewa[/eluser]
thanks a lot

[eluser]1stInter[/eluser]
Quote:It is gonna be a social network like classmates.com we await huge amount users online. I home that for the first time we will be able handle 500-1000 users online untill we will make a new engine with load balancing…

Hi,

Although I'm new to CodeIgnite, I work a fair bit with optimising servers for high capacity serving.

If you're looking to have 50,000 users online you need a strong architecture behind it, for instance:

* Multiple web servers (Apache / LightHTTP)
* Multiple SQL server back ends (MySQL / Postgres / Oracle)
* Load Balancing (LVS with keepalived / heartbeat / mon / Pound)
- Web servers AND SQL servers
* Caching Reverse Proxy (Squid)
* Finely tuned servers (files open, connections etc)

Of course, there are many different solutions I haven't mentioned at all.

As a popular web host you also have to put in excellent DoS detection (Denial of Service) and facilities to block IPs in case of attacks. You have to fine tune your kernel to ensure that hundreds of simultaneous connections don't bring your server to a crawling halt.

You'll need to look into whether caching technologies such as memcache is right for your solution (to cache MySQL queries - forget storing results in file caches with these kind of user figures, it will bring your servers to a standstill).

Just figuring out what technologies you should use, configuring and testing them with simulated loads will take weeks, if you do it right. Especially if you haven't used any of these before.

I have one comment though: 50,000 users online is a MASSIVE number of users; it means you'll have a registered userbase at least 10 times as large, so 500,000 registered users. And unless you're planning an application like Facebook you're probably looking at 1,000,000 users or more before you have 50,000 online at any one time.