Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
HTML Helper and Javascript issues

[eluser]korukyu[/eluser]
Hi, sorry. Total newb here. I'm new to CI and I was trying to modify the HTML helper by adding a script_tag function. I made a new helper (my_html_helper), and I changed some of the code from the original link_tag function.
Code:
function script_tag($src='', $type = 'text/javascript')
    {
        $CI =& get_instance();

$script = '<xscript ';

if ( strpos($src, '://') !== FALSE)
            {
                $script .= ' src="'.$src.'" ';
            }

else
            {
                $script .= ' src="'.$CI->config->slash_item('base_url').$src.'" ';
            }

$script .= '" type="'.$type.'" ';

$script .= '/>';

}
I added the 'x' in the script tag because the forum eats script tags, apparently. :lol:

Then when I call it, I call
Code:
echo script_tag('js/quiz.js');

Of course, it doesn't work. Confusedhut: I'm sure I'm screwing something up royally, and I thought I'd ask the experts! Any ideas?

[eluser]TheFuzzy0ne[/eluser]
Welcome to the CodeIgniter community.

Please can you be more specific? "It doesn't work", doesn't really help us figure out where the problem might be. Do you get an error? If so, what is it? Do you get an unexpected string returned? If so, what do you get?

[eluser]korukyu[/eluser]
Uh, the controller in which I call the script just gives me a blank page.

Sounds more like an issue with a whitespace somewhere it shouldn't be. Check the end of your helper file, and remove the closing ?&gt; tag.

[eluser]darkhouse[/eluser]
I think you just need to do return $script; in your helper function. You're not returning anything, therefore there's nothing to echo in your view.

[eluser]Thorpe Obazee[/eluser]
[quote author="darkhouse" date="1236167290"]I think you just need to do return $script; in your helper function. You're not returning anything, therefore there's nothing to echo in your view.[/quote]

:p

and you should replace