Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Menu Model

[eluser]Think Floyd[/eluser]
Hi all,

First of all I'd like explain that I'm new to the MVC design pattern, so apologies.

Anyhow, I have a Menu (drop down style) which I would like to include in all my views. I'm going to use a nested view approach, so at each controller I will just load one view - "container" or something of the like - which will include the Menu View.

OK, here's my problem:

The menu is dynamic: Cats & Subs are drawn from the DB. So if I create a model called MenuModel, should this return the "whole" menu (i.e everything including the HTML elements), or just the result from the query.

I understand you shouldn't use any View code within a model, but I'm unsure how to display the information from the Model in the View without doing something like this (bad pseudo code, ignore semantics):

Code:
Select * from cats
    <ul>
    foreach cat as cat{
        <li>
        echo $cat

Select * from subs where cats_sub = cat
        foreach sub as sub {
            <ul><li> echo sub</li></ul>
        }
        </li>
    }
    </ul>

Any help appreciated.

[eluser]TheFuzzy0ne[/eluser]
Welcome to the CodeIgniter forums!

Why not use a model to get the data, and a library/helper to do any formatting and return the HTML?

Thanks for the swift response.

I don't think I'm being all that clear.

I guess my true problem lies in in returning the data. I'm new to PHP and my multi-dimensional array knowledge needs polishing.

If I did an SQL JOIN in my query which would return the category -> and all sub categories of that category, I am then not sure how to iterate through this data in my view.

So I guess what I'm after would look something like this:

$data array(
category 1=> array (subcategory1, subcategory 2, etc)
category 2=> array (subcategory1, subcategory 2, etc)
)

Does that make sense?

Are the categories only one level deep?