Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CI is adding URL parts to links

(This post was last modified: 11-13-2014, 02:18 AM by milosh.)

Hello,

I am fairly new to CI and have a problem that is driving me crazy. On my site I have a top navigation for categories, like download, home and so on and each category has a sidebar menu that belongs to the category.

Because I don't want to add a controller for every category, I am trying to do it with a generic controller and view, the model gets the right data for the sidebar menu.

A typical top link would be: domain.ch/home or domain.ch/unix

A typical sidebar link would be:
domain.ch/home/news or
domain.ch/unix/oneliners

Everything after the first / are arguments for the controller because I route the requests to it:

$route['default_controller'] = 'pages/index';
$route['(:any)/(:any)'] = 'pages/index/show/$1/$2';
$route['(:any)'] = 'pages/index/show/$1';

So I am always calling the controller "pages", method "index" with the argument "show" (which loads the show.php view) and one or two optional parameters. The first optional is always the category, the second the section which corresponds to a sidebar link.

Therefor when I click on "home/news" in the sidebar, it should route to "pages/index/show/home/news". The model pulls the right data for the news section belonging to the category home.

Now for the driving-me-crazy-part: This works for the first time I access the site:
click on toplink unix -> sidebar with correct links for unix is shown
click on toplink home -> sidebar with correct links for home is shown
click on sidebar link home/news -> great, the news are pulled and showed on the side.