Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Object Oriented Design Patterns with CodeIgniter

[eluser]peterbz[/eluser]
Before I start writing my CMS, I want to plan out everything. To be honest, my OO concepts are a bit rusty as I am somewhat new to it and have trouble applying good design patterns.

So here's my problem.

I am writing a car CMS and as you know, many different categories and inner pages are somewhat similar. Is there a way to "extend" from a parent controller or model so that pages such as used cars, auto parts, etc can inherit from the similar structure?

I came across this page on the forum:
http://ellislab.com/forums/viewthread/100641/

but I don't quite understand why he would write a "module" to extend for his blogs, forums, and polls if most of the things are written in controllers and models.

[eluser]Mackstar[/eluser]
Yes I wouldn't worry about modules for now, until you know that you need them.

As for your car website, the kind of workings that you are hoping for is exactly what CI does best, you can create models for your cars, car parts then use the controllers to inject that data into your pages as needed.

I would also look at keeping the actions in your controllers limited to certain actions so they don't get too long and complicated. I like rails and its restful approach which tries to limit your controller actions to add, show, list, create, destroy, update and edit.

I have found keeping stuff simple in such a manner help so much with keeping my code maintainable.

Where possible keep all data processing actions in the model. Keeping the fat model, skinny controller approach. (Modules can be used to stop your controllers getting bloated!)

Cheers

Richard

[eluser]peterbz[/eluser]
Can you provide under what circumstances I will need modules.

OK the particular post you were relating to is not referring to what I would call modules (I would call modules more like the kind of extensibility used by libraries in CI).