Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Original data types in Active Record query result?

[eluser]Samuel Wan[/eluser]
I'm new to Code Igniter and PHP, and ran into the problem of Active Record returning all record properties as string types. After some research, I think I've figured out that PHP database queries always return results as strings, regardless of the table column's original data type. This seems like a terrible inconvenience.

Are there any best practices and/or libraries that enable a query to retrieve records with properties in their original data types?

Thanks in advance for any tips!

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
Hi Samuel,

Ya know, I'd never even noticed this before - but just did some tests with AR as well as the 'normal' CI query calls, and you're absolutely right.

What inconvenience are you experiencing with this? Is it just breaking on strict code structures such as: === ?

I guess in your models you could write some smarts that cast the data as it comes out of the DB, but that's pretty messy no matter which way you did it (dynamic table analysis or hard-coded field types).

At first, I implemented a content revisioning feature, and didn't have any problems incrementing a revision_number column of type int, probably because PHP casts the Active Record's string value to int for arithmetic operations.

E.g.
Code:
$new_revision_number = $row->revision_number + 1; // no problem

However,the big scenario where this breaks down is JSON-encoded responses. Most of my controller actions are AJAX web service methods via that return JSON-encoded records in response to HTTP-POST requests. Security issues aside, my original plan was to write simple web service controllers like so:

Code:
class SomeController() {
function getLastRevisionNumber($id) {
   ...load model, run query...
   echo json_encode($query->row());
}
}

Instead of the expected result:
Code:
[1,2,3,4,5]

I get this:
Code:
["1","2","3","4","5"];