Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Blank Page, Nothing in Logs?

[eluser]jimbiancolo[/eluser]
Hi folks,

Sorry to bother you with total newbie stuff, but I just inherited my first CI project, and I'm trying to get a local development environment up, and when I try to go to load the project home page I just get a blank page.

So first I checked my Apache logs. It shows the request with HTTP status of 500. So I went looking for the CI logs, found they were off, and turned them on. Reloaded and checked the CI logs (log_threshold=4), and saw debug messages, but no errors, which puzzled me. Here's what was logged:

Code:
DEBUG - 2009-04-05 19:01:53 --> Config Class Initialized
DEBUG - 2009-04-05 19:01:53 --> No URI present. Default controller set.
DEBUG - 2009-04-05 19:01:53 --> Router Class Initialized
DEBUG - 2009-04-05 19:01:53 --> Output Class Initialized
DEBUG - 2009-04-05 19:01:53 --> Input Class Initialized
DEBUG - 2009-04-05 19:01:53 --> XSS Filtering completed
DEBUG - 2009-04-05 19:01:53 --> XSS Filtering completed
DEBUG - 2009-04-05 19:01:53 --> Global POST and COOKIE data sanitized
DEBUG - 2009-04-05 19:01:53 --> URI Class Initialized
DEBUG - 2009-04-05 19:01:53 --> Language Class Initialized
DEBUG - 2009-04-05 19:01:53 --> Loader Class Initialized

So I tried tracing through the code. First I went to index.php and put in a bunch of print statements to try to zero in on the error. I determined that these lines all ran successfully:

Code:
define('EXT', '.'.pathinfo(__FILE__, PATHINFO_EXTENSION));
define('SELF', pathinfo(__FILE__, PATHINFO_BASENAME));
define('BASEPATH', $system_folder.'/');
define('APPPATH', BASEPATH.'application/'.$application_folder);

... but that something was failing on this line:

Code:
require_once BASEPATH.'codeigniter/CodeIgniter'.EXT;

So I went into that file (CodeIgniter.php), doing more prints, and the problem seems to lie on line 158:

Code:
$CI  = new $class();