Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Using partial views

[eluser]Madmartigan1[/eluser]
Hello,

I'm fairly new to CI and wondering what the best way to do this is.

I have a controllers/models/views set up for viewing/editing a database table called "events". OK, I have a view for events that shows the entire list.
What I would like to do is show the list on every page in my app (in a sidebar). If I just load the view file, the db values are of course not getting passed to it because the conroller/model isn't loaded. I'm not restricted to using any particular method, I'm just wondering the best way to do it.
Do I have to write a separate method/view? Normally (without CI) I would just "include" the event list file, which would have already "included" the sql stuff.

I'm sure the answer is basic CI usage, so thanks in advance.

[eluser]Michael Wales[/eluser]
I recently posted how to implement partial views inspired by Ruby on Rails on my blog. If you don't want to go that far all out - just take a look at the code for views/layout.php and each individual view file.

[eluser]Dam1an[/eluser]
@Michael: That was a brilliant post, inspired me to come up with a way to avoid calling view files manually in 95% of cases Smile

@Dam1an
Yeah, I love that modification. It has narrowed down my controllers significantly.

[eluser]NachoF[/eluser]
This is interesting but all of my views are always called method_view.php.... so I guess I will try this approach for my next project cause changing the file name for all those views is gonna be troublesome.

[quote author="NachoF" date="1241818625"]This is interesting but all of my views are always called method_view.php.... so I guess I will try this approach for my next project cause changing the file name for all those views is gonna be troublesome.[/quote]

Troublesome indeed.