Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Templates

[eluser]IvanBernat[/eluser]
Hi guys!

I'm a total newbie to CI, coming from Symfony and CakePHP.

I decided to build my next site with CI, so I have a few questions:

1) The Template Parser: I want to enable my users to upload their own templates. Can standard PHP be processed from the templates, or only the {} variables get processed? I'm really hoping you'll say "NO, PHP can't be run from templates" as it can be a real pain from a security aspect (allowing users to upload files with potential malicious code).

2) Functions within templates: Anyone managed to modify the Template Parser class to enable "template functions"? E.g. if {me} is a variable, something like {fn do_something "parameter1" "parameter2"}

3) How do you go about caching templates?

Thanks upfront for your help guys!

[eluser]John_Betong[/eluser]

Completely off topic but can you explain why the link in your signature brings up the following warning?

John,

Simple explanation: my hosting account got hacked yesterday taking down all my sites.

Google sent me that warning an hour ago,
and am now in the process of fixing stuff up.

Apparently, my PC got hacked, the stole my FTP passwords and injected a bunch of iframes in every page.

Quick fix: change the passwords, run a full system scan.
Slow fix: have to reinstall Vista ASAP.

[eluser]Dam1an[/eluser]
[quote author="John_Betong" date="1245697216"] 
Completely off topic but can you explain why the link in your signature brings up the following warning?

[/quote]

According to the Google report one of the site it links to has lots of malware

Edit: Looks like he explained why before I did

[quote author="Dam1an" date="1245697707"]Edit: Looks like he explained why before I did[/quote]

Thanks for the concern guys, I know I'm new here.

I just requested a review by Google.

Anyway, anyone got a clue about the template questions?

[eluser]wiredesignz[/eluser]