Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
2.0 - seriously, whats taking so long?

[eluser]richthegeek[/eluser]
Hi,

I've been using CI for nearly 18 months now, and during that whole time the mythical CI/EE 2.0 has been "just around the corner"... I'm cautious about using CI for new projects because 2.0 (surely) won't be backwards compatible, and will no doubt have features I would like to take advantage of..

I'm really confused as to how it can take 18+ months to upgrade a framework, unless you are getting bogged down by feature creep or spending your whole time browsing /b/?

Seriously guys, its starting to look like Duke Nukem Forever here!

[eluser]garymardell[/eluser]
They arn't upgrading the framework as per say. They are creating a whole new expression engine, and in the process using codeigniter and updating codeigniter. They released their plans too early and they know it, and got hype when they didn't want it. They have re-written expression engine from scratch which can't be easy. They also have to do large amounts of testing for a commercial product, several code reviews of every section line by line, usability testing, convert plugins over and documentation. Expression engine will come first and we can't be sure we will even receive a "stripped" down version for codeigniter at all near the expression engine release. Obviously this could be done ourselves. I think its nearing completion and if you follow the expression engine blog you will see there should be more updates o the 30th. There should be a release soon of expression engine. However there is no reason to stop making things with the current codeigniter, yes you may want to use parts of the new codeigniter but you can always code what you need in the meantime.

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
[quote author="richthegeek" date="1246198974"]I've been using CI for nearly 18 months now, and during that whole time the mythical CI/EE 2.0 has been "just around the corner"[/quote]