Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Regex valid ip

[eluser]Twisted1919[/eluser]
yes i know that this is not the first nor the last discussion about validating an ipv4 address with regex .

Currently i have this pattern :
(On many lines for good reading)

Code:
$pattern = '/^(([1-9](0)?\.|[1-9]{2}\.|(1[0-9][0-9]|2[0-5][0-5])\.)';
$pattern.= '([0-9]{1,2}\.|[1-9]{2}\.|(1[0-9][0-9]|2[0-5][0-5])\.)';
$pattern.= '([0-9]{1,2}\.|[1-9]{2}\.|(1[0-9][0-9]|2[0-5][0-5])\.)';
$pattern.= '([0-9]{1,2}|[1-9]{2}|(1[0-9][0-9]|2[0-5][0-5])))$/';

yes , a long one , so i was wondering if you can help me with something similar that will allow only valid ip addreses but without the help of php , just regex .

I'm sure that must be a way of doing this , but i am just learning regex , and this is all that i could come up with .

Thanks.

[eluser]sophistry[/eluser]
here is a thread that talks about CI's valid_ip() function.

maybe that will help?

Not quite , i need a regex "standalone" solution . i don't want to use php at all , exception for preg_match() at the end .
Example:
Code:
<?php
if( preg_match('/A Pattern that will match all ips classes/',$ip) )
{
echo 'congrats your ip passed our filters'."\n";
}
else
{
echo 'are u serious ?';
}
?>

[eluser]slowgary[/eluser]
That thread DOES have a regex in it somewhere. Looked like this:
Code:
if ( ! preg_match( "/^[0-9]{1,3}\.[0-9]{1,3}\.[0-9]{1,3}\.[0-9]{1,3}$/", $ip))
{
     return FALSE;
}

But you shoudlread the thread and check out the rest of the code so you know what the regex won't do (although it may be suitable as stands). I'm not too good with regexes myself (and probably never will be ;-P).

slowgary , your provided regex is no good at all .
Passing : 192.168.2.299 returns true , but really is ?
or : 0.123.123.123 , is this a real ip ?

On the previus post , i said that i want something more accurate but only from regex .