Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
installation problems

[eluser]richzilla[/eluser]
hi all, im brand new to php and code igniter and im having a little bit of a problem installing the code igniter folders. basically ive got them all uploaded to the server and stored in the correct directory. However, when i go to the correct address in the browser i get a 404 error saying the page cannot be found. I double checked the spelling, and also typed in the url for the specific page... still nothing. Just to check it wasnt a problem with the server, i uploaded a hello world program to the server in the same directory and that works fine.... any ideas?

thanks in advance

[eluser]Dam1an[/eluser]
What directory are they in? What URLs have you tried?

Assuming you copied it so that you have index.php, system, user)guide and license.txt in the web root (httpdocs) then just the domain should be fine
If you're trying to use the full URI (specifying the controller and function as well) and don't have htaccess set up, make sure you have index.php in the URL as well as per the user guide

[eluser]Tyler Diaz[/eluser]
Very high chance its something to do with either the URL configuration, if you removed index.php with .htaccess - that can also be affecting it.

Maybe post your controller that does not work, and we can work to it from there.

thanks for the help, its not a controller problem, i havent got that far yet. Ive uploaded the extracted files to my webserver, and then gone to the address http://myserver.com/ci/index.php... and i get a 404 error even though the file is quite obviously there.

thanks

[eluser]dgreenhouse[/eluser]
Being a newbie to CI myself, I can offer my condolences.

I had a hell of a time initially getting it configured properly,
but I've become very productive within a short period of time.

I’m building a fairly large and robust application in CI now.