Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
FPDI and CodeIgniter, cannot read PDFs

[eluser]tjstalcup[/eluser]
I have made my PDFs readable, 444, and I have tried putting the PDFs outside of the root directory and using:
Code:
$pdf->SetSourceFile(base_url()."businesscard.pdf");

this bit of code just keeps the browser spinning, not loading anything

If I put the PDF in the same directory as the script:

Code:
$pdf->SetSourceFile("businesscard.pdf");

it says FPDF error: Cannot open businesscard.pdf !

Now, if I take out that line, it generates the PDF fine. I have been using FPDI/FPDF for 2 years before using CI and never had this issue. Is there a configuration setting inside of CI that would allow me to import PDFs?

Thanks.

[eluser]pistolPete[/eluser]
[quote author="tjstalcup" date="1250117241"]I have made my PDFs readable, 444, and I have tried putting the PDFs outside of the root directory and using:
Code:
[/quote]

Since you try to access the file via the full url, is allow_url_fopen set to true in your php.ini?

[eluser]tjstalcup[/eluser]
[quote author="pistolPete" date="1250119656"][quote author="tjstalcup" date="1250117241"]I have made my PDFs readable, 444, and I have tried putting the PDFs outside of the root directory and using:
Code:
[/quote]

Since you try to access the file via the full url, is allow_url_fopen set to true in your php.ini?[/quote]

allow_url_fopen On On

that's what's in my phpinfo();

[eluser]derekmichaeljohnson[/eluser]
[quote author="tjstalcup" date="1250117241"]
Code:
[/quote]
Rather than using base_url(), I would define the real path (i.e. /opt/lampp/...).

Incidentally, I'm trying to integrate FPDI myself. I've got FPDF working like a charm, but I'm running into issues with FPDI. Care to post a quick outline of how you installed FPDI?

[eluser]Paul Hernández[/eluser]