Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Help with full "fake" directory structure URL

[eluser]alphane[/eluser]
Hi all,

I've been developing with CI intermittently for about a year. I'm by no means a novice, but not coming from a PHP background before using CI has left some major gaps in my knowledge.

My current issue is that I want to create a site using a full "virtual directory" structure. So where I understand I could easily create a controller to handle requests such as

Code:
www.site.com/controller/friendly-page-name

what if I wanted to show the pages relationship to other pages through the URL? How could I, for example, achieve something like this:

Code:
www.site.com/parent-page/child-page/even-deeper-page

I could route all requests to a master controller, but wouldn't that leave me with the situation of having to then manually re-route all exceptions to their true controllers?

It seems to me that there should be a really elegant solution that is just eluding me. I don't really know what to call this "technique" either, which is also hindering me searching the web for known solutions.

Can anyone help or point me in the right direction on this?

Regards,

Andy

[eluser]guillermo, out of repose[/eluser]
Not all that sure I have a full grasp on what you're asking but I think the _remap() method can be put to use here. Read more about it in the user guide. If I get what you're saying, you could, in theory, have a few "parent" controllers and use the _remap() method to handle all requests that go to those parents. So:

[pre]www.site.com/parent-page/child-page/even-deeper-page[/pre] could get handled by the parent-page controller, and you could do something like this:

[pre]
function _remap($method)
{
switch($method) {
case "some-awesome-child":
// do some stuff using uri segments
case "some-other-awesome-child":
// do some more stuff
}
}
[/pre]