Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
correct way to display a results in a grid in the view - really easy q!

[eluser]thiswayup[/eluser]
Hi All

I'm new to MVC and mindful of doing it right as possible for this project I'm working on. Essentially I have a my result and listing it is just fine where I just loop through it but what if i wanted to display it as a grid? Say I wanted to have grid of 3 across and 2 high. I would have in the past done a check if the result was item 3 then I would create a new row.

Am i just over thinking this and this is actually the right approach to take for the view?

Cheers

[eluser]CroNiX[/eluser]
A little unclear by what you mean by 3 across and 2 high. Can you provide more details? Im thinking you just want to display a table in your view with the data.

In the view, put something like (assuming the array of data you are passing to your view is called '$results':
Code:
<!-- create table -->
<table>
&lt;!-- create column headers --&gt;
<thead>
<tr>
    <th>Name</th>
    <th>Phone</th>
</tr>
</thead>
&lt;!-- display the data --&gt;
<tbody>
&lt;?php foreach($results as $result): ?&gt;
<tr>
    <td>&lt;?php echo $result['name']; ?&gt;</td>
    <td>&lt;?php echo $result['phone']; ?&gt;</td>
</tr>
&lt;?php endforeach; ?&gt;
</tbody>
</table>

This would create something similar to:
Name Phone

John 555-555-1212
Sam 555-555-1213
Chris 555-555-1214

sorry, I meant say if I had 6 products, I wanted to display on the top row, 3 products then on the second row the next 3 products.

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
MVC doesn't change the algorithm here - you'd do this in your view, and you'd do it by cycling through a counter to trigger a new row, as you suggest, every third item.

I gather you're okay to write that code, yeah?