Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Navigation like a site without framework

[eluser]Haskabab[/eluser]
Hello guys!

I'm new to CI but i definitely see it's capabilities and I can't wait to fully master it. I've read the whole user guide and watched some screencasts about how it works and I'm getting the hang of it already.

The only question I have that remains unanswered is how I get a navigation system to work.

Normally when creation a site I would have an index.php and within that the page's layout and a snippet for getting the file to include (what page to show) through the $_GET.

But how do I get the same effect using codeIgniter? Since I need to make a view file to view the site, how do I include a page withing a view file? Or am I getting the wrong idea?

If anybody has anything helpful about how to achieve a navigation system of some sort, please reply!

Thanks in advance,
Nick

[eluser]Michael Wales[/eluser]
A view can itself load a view, so you load a master view which loads your partial view based on the URI passed by your controller.

Okay sweet, but how does it interact with different controllers then?

It might be a dumb question but I'm not getting the structure that should be used :S

EDIT: Never mind, I think I understand how and what to do. If you got anything to add though, feel free to reply ^^

[eluser]brianw1975[/eluser]
I think you are getting the wrong idea...

before I go on.... you are saying that your old links used to be index.php?page=this&that=theother

and based on the _GET you would include a file?

if so... did you ever get hacked? I had a friend do that a long time ago and his entire VPS got disconnected because of an XSS assualt.

So moving on... you aren't loading a page per se, you are loading a function, aka a controller.

As you know the controller takes in the data passed to it, sends whatever it needs to to the Model takes that data back, and then loads a view and passes the data to the view....