Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Sessions, some work, some donn't.

[eluser]smick[/eluser]
Hi,

I've been using Codeigniter for a few years now and today I ran into a session problem. I've had these issues with nearly every site I've developer with codeigniter, and it is sad that it keeps being a problem.

I have a number of sessions that are used across the site, and they work well.

But I'm trying to set a simple session in a model file and I'm getting strange results.

I have the following code:

Code:
if(isset($_POST['category'])) {
                //echo("submitted");
                $category = $this->input->post('category');
                echo("category: $category<br>");
                if($this->session->set_userdata("category", $category)) { echo("session set"); }
                else { echo("session set failed<br>"); }
                echo("category specified, set to: $category " . $this->session->userdata('category') );
            }
            else {
                $category = $this->session->userdata('category');
                echo("no category specified, setting category to: $category " . $this->session->userdata('category'));
            }

It outputs this on first run, when the category post data is sent:

Quote:category: 15
session set failed
category specified, set to: 15 15

When I reload the page without sending the category post data it responds:

Quote:no category specified, setting category to:

This is so strange, because on first run, it fails to set the session variable, but then is able to retrieve the session variable for reporting purposes. Then when I load the page without the post data, it cannot retrieve the session data.

Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

I have my session config set to the following:

Code:
$config['sess_cookie_name']        = 'RM_sessions';
$config['sess_expiration']        = 60 * 60 * 24 * 30;
$config['sess_encrypt_cookie']    = FALSE;
$config['sess_use_database']    = FALSE;