Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
ecommerce: zend framework, magento and CI

[eluser]deck1[/eluser]
Hi all,

I am very new in CI community, and i have to say that i love it, both the people and the CI code.

At this time i am involved in some ecommerce proyects, and i am using a heavily modified oscommerce version. You can imagine, the code is a nightmare.

I am planning to change, and here comes the dilemma.

I love CI, i was planning to write a solution that fit my needs, using CI and sometimes using classes and resources from another Open Source solutions. This may take long time, but i have entirely control over code, keeping it as lightweight as possible.

But, in the past August, Magento comes into scene. Magento is an MVC open source ecommerce solution, written over Zend Framework. I have downloaded magento, it looks great, but has a dense structure.

I don't know what to do Sad If i use magento, in a few years it's possible that magento becomes the new oscommerce, with its pros and cons. But at this time i will have a base to work with.

Another possibility is use CI, i will develop it from (semi)scratch, and use some magento and ZF classes, but I don't know if this will be easy enough.

I know that lots of you are involved in oscommerce, what do you think about magento? what do you think is the best way (ZF+Magento vs CI)?

I hope this post will reopen an ecommerce talk, thanks for your time, and sorry for my bad english!

[eluser]johnwbaxter[/eluser]
Interestingly(ish) they use EE for their forum (maybe the whole site, i'm not sure).

I think magento is excellent. If it were me, i'd take what magento has done and build on that, CI is great but magento have done a lot of work and i'm a firm believer in not re-inventing the wheel.

[eluser]alpar[/eluser]