Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Blog Database Structure - Categories & Meta Tags

[eluser]lenwood[/eluser]
Hi All,
I'm slowly working my way forward in building a full featured blog with CI, and I'd like for my entries to have both categories and meta tags. What's the best (or common) way to implement these? Here's how I see these being used.

Categories: predefined, set number, will only be associated with blog posts, every blog post will have them. Clicking will show all blog entries within that same category.

Meta Tags: author adds them as posts are generated, unlimited number, will be associated with blog posts and static pages. Clicking will show all content on the site with that tag.

This is my first attempt at creating a dynamic site from scratch, and I'm having trouble wrapping my head around this. Would it be best for these to each be their own table within the database? Or is there a way to have these as fields within a table?

Thanks in Advance,
Chris

[eluser]n0xie[/eluser]
This is my 'simple' take on it.

I assume you have a table called blogs where your blog posts are. For example you have 4 blog entries:
Code:
blog_id, title, content
=======================
1, my programming blog, a blogpost about programming
2, my ruby article, an article about ruby
3, my second ruby article, another article about ruby
4, my php article, an article about php

Let's say your categories have a table categories:
Code:
cat_id, parent_id, name
=======================
1, 0, programming
2, 1, ruby
3, 1, php

Which will give you the categories:
/programming
/programming/ruby
/programming/php

Now all you need is a field in your blog table:
Code:
blog_id, cat_id, title, content
===============================
1, 1, my programming blog, a blogpost about programming
2, 2, my ruby article, an article about ruby
3, 2, my second ruby article, another article about ruby
4, 3, my php article, an article about php