Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Using Ajax for CI with forms

[eluser]ufasoli[/eluser]
Hello again,
I have been asking a lot of questions lately, and you have been really helpful guys, so here is another one...

Here is the situation, I have an inscription form that is 4 pages and I've decided to do all the validation through Ajax and even though I have done this before manually ( This is my first time using a framework) I'm having trouble understanding how Ajax for code Igniter works...

What I want to do is when the user clicks on the next button to submit the entire form through Ajax do my validation on a function in my controller named page_1 and if there are errors update a div in my view with an error message using as well an effect to make it look more "sexy" ( I hope I've been clear on what I would like to achieve). Here is my code

this is my controller function
Code:
function page_1()
{

..... some validation    

if (!$error) // if some error occurred during validation
            {
                $this->ajax->visual_effect('BlindUp','testAjax');      
                $this->ajax->replace_html('testAjax', 'test');
            }

//$this->validation->set_rules($rules);
            echo "test";

this is my view
Code:
echo $this->ajax->form_remote_tag( array('url'=>'page_1') ) ;

once the view has been parsed here is what I get :

Code:
<form method="post" onsubmit="new Ajax.Request('page_1',{evalScripts:true,     parameters:Form.serialize(this)}); >

The thing is that I'm able to recover the post data that I transmit through Ajax, but I can't do the update thing on the Dom Element

Thanks in advance

Ulises

[eluser]Crafter[/eluser]
Are you implementing a "wizard" like form.

Then in your view you need a placeholder for your form stuff
Code:
<div id='form_container'>
&lt;form method="post" onsubmit="new Ajax.Request('page_1.php',{evalScripts:true,     parameters:Form.serialize(this)}); &gt;
&lt;/form&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;