Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CI with Jquery/Ajax best practices

[eluser]blzabub[/eluser]
Hello,

I'm just getting into codeigniter and really enjoying it.

I'm building a calendar administration system using the calendar library. I'd like to use jquery's ajax features to add/edit calendar entries. I've had some problems where the URL referenced by my jquery code (in a separate javascript file), needs some awareness of the current URL which varies based on what year and month of the calendar the user is viewing, for example-

application/admin/calendars/index/2010/05 (May 2010)

or

application/admin/calendars/index/2011/12 (December 2011)

My jquery code can be aware of this by use of base_url or site_url I suppose, but then I would have to embed the jquery code into my php file (CI view file) so that the base_url() function could be called. Is this really the best way to accomplish this? It seems like having jquery code in my CI view file violates some guidelines about unobtrusive javascript, etc. I was wondering if anyone was familiar with a better methodology for doing this.

Thanks in advance,

~Ben

[eluser]BradEstey[/eluser]
[quote author="blzabub" date="1272057404"]
My jquery code can be aware of this by use of base_url or site_url I suppose, but then I would have to embed the jquery code into my php file (CI view file) so that the base_url() function could be called. Is this really the best way to accomplish this? It seems like having jquery code in my CI view file violates some guidelines about unobtrusive javascript, etc. I was wondering if anyone was familiar with a better methodology for doing this.
[/quote]