Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CI newbie needs assistance with jQuery div refresh

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
I am a longtime PHP coder who has recently discovered the awesomeness that is Codeigniter. I am working on my first CI project and have a question related to refreshing a div with different views using CI and jQuery.

I have an internet radio station that interacts heavily with our song database to display current song, upcoming songs, song requests, etc on our website. Because of this heavy reliance on db interaction, I figured that this would be the perfect project to try my newly found CI skills on. So far, so good! I love CI!

I have come to a roadblock, however. This is really more of a jQuery question (which I am new to as well), but it involves loading views using jQuery so I figured I would start here.

First of all, here is a URL to the project I am working on: http://www.johnvernier.com/ro3/

I have a div that contains an unordered list of three links. If you visit the URL above, you will see this div is located directly above the search box at the top right of the page and is used to select the type of search you want to perform ('by song', 'by artist' and 'by album'). The li tag containing the currently selected search type is styled with an "active" class to make the text bold and give it a different color. The "active" li tag does not have a link since it is the current type. The other two list items are links to the other two search types.

On my current website which is not built in CI or jQuery, I have three different search pages (you guessed it - by-song.php, by-artist.php, and by-album.php), and when you click on the "Song Title" link the entire by-song.php page loads. This is horribly inefficient and I would like to only refresh the div that contains the menu when the "by song", "by artist" or "by album" links are clicked.