Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Porting existing to CI from a newbs POV

[eluser]CI_Newb[/eluser]
Being a self taught programmer, I'm learning as I go. I wrote a pretty big application for my company which works well but it's very chaotic in design.

After looking into CI, how it works and how the whole MVC approach makes sense, I decided to rewrite the entire app using CI. I've watched just about all the video tutorials, read the user guide a few times and googled my arse off learning what I can.

Now I'm in no hurry, trying to do this right and really learn and use CI to its fullest. Basically what I'm doing is take a basic part of the app and redo it using CI, test it and study the code.

It's so far been going very smooth, learning a lot in the process, and really having to dig for solutions to problems I run into.

Here are some questions that come to mind:
1) Is this the way to port an existing app to CI for a newb?
2) I'm using the MVC approach but I have to wonder, is or when is acceptable to query the db from a view file?
3) Being consistently worrying that my controllers and models are too huge. I got a controller that's already 10 functions and 250 lines of code long. Is that too long? When should I be thinking that a controller / model is too big?
4) I sometimes have issues reusing models for similar things so I make a new function to do the same as the other function but with a slight change. Tips?

Thats all I can think of right now, any advise, tips, tricks would be great!

[eluser]jeremydt[/eluser]
Please take what I'm about to say with a 'grain of salt' because I too am fairly new and self taught. This being said, I too am in the process of migrating an app to codeigniter for work.

Here's what I've learned: