Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Updating Multiple Tables

[eluser]Konvurt[/eluser]
All,

I am a newbie to CI and PHP. I am currently building an application @ work that manages student applicants, students, faculty, and staff.

So far, I have build a RUD system. I understand how to read/update/delete records using joins. Additionally I can successfully create new records in for user types that relate to one table.

However, when it comes to updating data in multiple tables I am quite confused. I have read other forum posts that relate to my dilema but I am still not sure how to apply those suggestions to
my project.

Here is more clear description of my current system. I have listed the main tables and few of their fields:

student_applicants (applicant_id, fname, lname, etc.)
master_people (user_id, role, status, etc)
dept_people (dp_userid, fname, lname, etc)

Student Applicants have their own table where we collect basic info and assign them an auto-incremented id. If a student applicant is accepted to the program the following things need to happen:

1. The Applicant record is updated to so that the status is flagged as "Enrolled".

2. A record for the applicant turned student needs to be created in master_people, their status, role and userid will be assigned

3. A record for the applicant turned student needs to be created in dept_people, the dp_userid should be set to the user_id created in master_people and related information such as fname, lname needs to be pulled from student applicant record and inserted in this new dept_people record.

I realize that the master_people and the dept_people tables could be combined to simplify this however, this database design was requested by stakeholders.

Some thoughts on doing this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

[eluser]Aleazus[/eluser]