Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
How do you compile your personal library functions

[eluser]eboxhead[/eluser]
I've gotten to the point in my coding where I rely upon many functions that I've written myself. I originally compiled them into one large library script and usually auto loading that library.

I was wondering if this is the most efficient method for doing this or should I create smaller libraries and place them all in a subfolder, obviously only calling what I need?

Seeing as how I'm a self taught (and still always learning) coder, what is your chosen method of handeling this, and is there a best practice?

[eluser]smilie[/eluser]
Well, try profiling your code, to see how much time / memory does loading that library takes. See Profiling CI.

What I usually do is group similiar functions into separate libraries, i.e. user functions (login / logout / check user / change pass etc) I would place in 1 lib and load that lib only where I need it. This way I can always trace back lib that I need by just looking at the name of it...

I think it is a resources overkill to load whole library with functions if you only use 3% of them for example.

But again, do some testing and then decide if the performance gain would be significant enough to split functions into multiple libs.

Cheers,
Smilie

[eluser]eboxhead[/eluser]
Thanks, I hadn't thought of profiling. I will definitely try that.

My question wasn't for speed purposed though, I know that loading an entire library only to use a fraction of it will bog down the app, I'm looking as more of an ease of use when developing new apps to just add a folder of a compilation of your libraries or one large library.

I have started to dismantel the large library in favor of the smaller packages, but I just wanted to see what the world does Smile

[eluser]Abdul Malik Ikhsan[/eluser]
i think, you can set include path in bootstrap or autoload Smile
<?php