Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Thinking of Switching From Rails - How does CI Perform In the Real World?

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
I know there already are some CI vs. Cake vs. RoR threads, which I read and found helpful. I'm mostly looking for some fresh answers to a more specific line of questions. I apologize for the noobish nature of this post - but I bet there are a lot of Rails guys out there that feel like the platform might not be all that amazing for long term development.

I've been developing sites with Rails for about 2 years now. I enjoy the process, ruby is a fun language and was easy to learn, but a constant problem has been dealing with the lack of support for RoR, difficult configuration, weird errors and sluggish performance.

Rails seems ready for prime-time if you have the cash and staff to manage the issues, but if you are a small shop like mine, it can be a real pain. I'm currently dealing with the aftermath of MediaTemple's meltdown during the first half of october so it is time to examine frameworks that are not such Diva's.

I have some experience with PHP, as it's what I used primarily before switching to RoR, and CI seems like a slightly better fit for me than Cake.

What have your experiences been with installation ease / speed & performance / reliability?

Is resource consumption a big concern?

How beefy a setup would be needed for someone launching lots of small to medium sized sites? What about very large (5000 page +) sites?

Any recommendations or warnings on hosting?

Thanks in advance for reading and any advice. To entertain you I added a fun car comparison poll.

[eluser]Michael Wales[/eluser]
Quote:What have your experiences been with installation ease / speed & performance / reliability?
Most all issues with hosting are related to how you host handles mod_rewrite, there are a lot of tutorials out there to get a CI app running on a variety of hosts and the community is always here to help.