Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
An Error Was Encountered: The URI you submitted has disallowed characters.

[eluser]BoyBlue[/eluser]
Hello—

I’m new to CI so please be kind…

I’m trying to create a link in an Email that when clicked will come to a Page on my site that will be able to retrieve the member’s email by using “$this->uri->segment(3);

I am successfully sending/receiving the email with the link…However, when the link is clicked I get the following error:

An Error Was Encountered
The URI you submitted has disallowed characters.

In the browser, segment(3) looks like this:

/ % 0 9 % 0 9 % 0 9 % 0 9 % 0 9 memberemail @ mail . com
(I put those spaces in the % 0 9 for the initial post because if they were not in there it posts it as an email link without the % 0 9 element…)

I’m guessing my problem is the ” % 0 9 ” stuff—

Here is the relevant code creating the link in the email:
$member_email = $this->input->post(‘email’); (obviously grabbing the email from the form)
$message = ” hypertext stuff and then localhost/beta/index.php/login/login_email/”.$member_email .”;
(Email send code including…)
$this->email->message($message);

First of all, is the ” % 0 9 ” stuff normal? And, if so, what is the best practice for me to successfully load the page and retrieve the email?

(I tried to include the email message code—but, wasn’t allowed due to it looking like a link…)

thanks,
BoyBlue

[eluser]Sergio B[/eluser]
Sorry but I couldn't determine where those % 09 are coming from, in the code you posted it seems like the generated link would be something like:

Code:
localhost/login/login_email/[email protected]

So the only thing I can think about is that those % 09 are in the $member_email variable, maybe you should try to trim it before creating the link anchor. Still it would help a lot to see your code.

[eluser]BoyBlue[/eluser]