Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
mysql sock error using code igniter

[eluser]kingconnections[/eluser]
I am moving this a site over for a client and it uses codeigniter. I am a complete noob to this framework. I got everything copied over and all. I changed the database info in the database.php file. But I get this mysql can not connect to socket error.

Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/usr/local/mysql-5.0/data/mysql.sock' (2)

If I use the standard coding skills I am able to connect to the db fine. ie

$conn = mysql_connect('host.sever.net','user1','User1');
if (!conn) {
die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());
}
echo 'Connected successfully';

if (!mysql_select_db("test")) {
echo "Unable to select mydbname: " . mysql_error();
exit;
}

$sql = "SELECT email
FROM user
";

$result = mysql_query($sql);

if (!$result) {
echo "Could not successfully run query ($sql) from DB: " . mysql_error();
exit;
}

if (mysql_num_rows($result) == 0) {
echo "No rows found, nothing to print so am exiting";
exit;
}

// While a row of data exists, put that row in $row as an associative array
// Note: If you're expecting just one row, no need to use a loop
// Note: If you put extract($row); inside the following loop, you'll
// then create $userid, $fullname, and $userstatus
while ($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result)) {
echo $row["email"];
echo "<br>";
}

mysql_free_result($result);

mysql_close($conn);

Any ideas? Any help would be great!!!

[eluser]thurting[/eluser]
I would check your config file again. Also, make sure the DB allows connections from whatever server you are connecting from (though if you can connect using non CI methods this shouldn't be an issue).

[eluser]llbbl[/eluser]
this not a CI issue its something wrong with your mysql configuration.