Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Best practice to code "includes" (views)?

[eluser]vadimyer[/eluser]
Hello!

I'm rather new to CI and first and maybe only question I have right now is how can I make some "general" template file or files (like header.php, footer.php, sidebar.php in WordPress) and then include them just pasting one line of code in every view? Do I have to create views like header_view.php etc. etc. for that? Or is there any other possible method?

Thanks in advance for you reply! Also I want to say that I'm looking for the best practice, not the easiest one.

[eluser]marcogmonteiro[/eluser]
Normally i do this:

template_view.php

with this code:

Code:
$this->load->view('includes/header_view');
$this->load->view('includes/head_view');
$this->load->view('includes/navigation_view');
$this->load->view($main_content);
$this->load->view('includes/sidebar_view');
$this->load->view('includes/footer_view');

then when i load the view on my controller I do something like this:

Code:
$data['main_content'] = 'articles_view';

$this->load->view('template_view', $data);

I don't know if this is the best way, but this is how I manage to segment my views.

[eluser]cideveloper[/eluser]
or you could use a template library from these 2 fine gents

Colin Williams

Phil Sturgeon

I have used the first one a lot and it suits most of my needs. I haven't fully tried our Phils but it looks real good too.

ok, that's probably would be the way to go then! Smile

[eluser]vadimyer[/eluser]
Thanks guys! But I like the way you do it, cancerman. Probably, because it's much easier than diving into those template libraries, although they're pretty easy to learn.

Maybe any other solutions, people?

yep, that's why I did it like this...

[eluser]Narkboy[/eluser]
I tend to do something similar:

base.php (tempalte view file):
Code:
[...]
<body>
<div id="head">&lt;?php $this->load->view('head');?&gt;</div>
<div id="nav">&lt;?php $this->load->view('nav');?&gt;</div>