Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Use CodeIgniter in ubuntu very efficient Manner

[eluser]romeomustdie[/eluser]
I am a linux Programmer , I believe Linux is a best os .so I am sharing the power of CI in linux .

Total Environment :

Step 1: [install apache]
sudo apt-get install apache2

Step 2: [install php]
sudo apt-get install libapache2-mod-php5

Step 3: [restart apache]
sudo service apache2 restart

step 4: [you can enable any site any moment ]

To create a new site:

Copy the default website as a starting point. sudo cp /etc/apache2/sites-available/default /etc/apache2/sites-available/mysite

Edit the new configuration file in a text editor "sudo nano" on the command line or "gksudo gedit", for example: gksudo gedit /etc/apache2/sites-available/mysite

Change the DocumentRoot to point to the new location. For example, /home/user/public_html/

Change the Directory directive, replace <Directory /var/www/> to <Directory /home/user/public_html/>

You can also set separate logs for each site. To do this, change the ErrorLog and CustomLog directives. This is optional, but handy if you have many sites
* Save the file

Now Do the Following :

[ sudo a2dissite default && sudo a2ensite mysite ]

here mysite is the new site in your new site location .

Step 5:Just Make sure that the directory where you want to put Codeigniter is writable otherwise apache cant read that.

do the following :

sudo chmod -R 777 /home/user/public_html/

Step 6: [install MySQl and PhpMyAdmin]

1. sudo apt-get install mysql-server libapache2-mod-auth-mysql php5-mysql
2. sudo apt-get install subversion
3. now just go to the directory where you set the newsite that is /home/user/public_html
by using cd command
now you get something in your command prompt

~/public_html$

4.and type

sudo apt-get install svn checkout https://phpmyadmin.svn.sourceforge.net/s...phpMyAdmin phpMyAdmin

5.now goto localhost and type /phpMyAdmin you will get phpmyadmin window.

Final Step: