Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Where do you put the content of the site?

[eluser]marlar[/eluser]
Hi,

I hope you will forgive all my questions, but as a new CI developer I have so many :-)

I suddenly realized that something very basic is unclear to me: Where do you put the different content of your sites?

Like the "About..." part, the FAQ, the Welcome texts etc. Do you hardcode it into your views, or do you put it in a database?

My first idea is to hardcode the text parts in a model called Content, just to get started quickly. Later on I can change the model and pour the content into the database instead. Without having to change my views.

This scheme seems quite obvious, but often the best approach is not the obvious so I am interested in hearing your thoughts.

Best regards,
Martin

[eluser]tonanbarbarian[/eluser]
I think I might have just answered something similar to this in another post.

You want to break your site up into parts, call them modules, elements whatever, so that you can have more control over the display rather than having the entire page in a single view file?

If that is the case look at this post I just wrote

http://ellislab.com/forums/viewreply/329953/

Also what I did not mention in that post (and I will not include code for here) is that you can use a similar system called Layouts , usually implemented as a Library (look in the forums and wiki for examples) that allow you to put code around your view.

Basically the process is
Layout
View
Element
Element
Element

I guess the Layout could load more elements as well
The layout just makes it easy to "skin" or "template" your site without having to change every view

Hope this is what you are looking for

[eluser]ejangi[/eluser]