Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Extending php Exception class... how to integrate into CI

[eluser]ddesign[/eluser]
Hi,

I am new to CI and would like to write custom exceptions (extend the PHP Exception class). How do I integrate custom exceptions into CI? Do I need to load the library with $this->load->library("Exception_document_invalid_id") in both the class that throws it and the class that traps it? How do I throw and trap it when its loaded (named) like this? I tried a few things but nothing worked. Any help would be most appreciated. Hopefully this can be done. Below is an example of what I am trying to do:

Code:
// the extended exception class (not the CI Exception class but the native PHP exception class)

class Exception_document_invalid_id extends Exception  {
     public function __construct($id) {
        $code = 101;
        $message = "Invalid document ID='" . $id . "'.";
        parent::__construct($message, $code);
    }
}

// the class throwing the custom exception

class Document_model extends Model
{
    function get_document($id)
    {
             // test to see if document exists in DB, throw exception if not.
             throw new Exception_document_invalid_id($id);
    }
}

// the class trapping the exception

class Document extends Controller {
    function view()
    {
              try
              {
                    $this->load->model('Document_model');
                    $document = $this->Document_model->get_document($id);
              }
             catch (Exception_document_invalid_id $ex)
             {
                     $data['error_main'] = get_user_friendly_message($ex->getCode());
                     log_message('error', "Document:view " . $ex->getMessage(), false);
             }
             catch (Exception $ex)
             {
                       $data['error_main'] = "Could not retrieve document. Unknown error.";