Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Help/Advice on application design

[eluser]VirtualDevel[/eluser]
Hey guys, I am working on one of my first web apps. It will have a few pages 5 or so that are all front end, this will be the main site. Then there will be an admin area with pages to update content on the front end pages. I am a bit unclear on how to proceed. Should I create on controller, i.e. site_main with functions for each of the main pages? Each with a model? Should I create seperate controllers for each of these pages? I also need to be able to allow the admin to create pages, should this be in its own controller? Thanks a ton, sorry for all the questions. I am new to MVC and CI..

V_Devl ~~~>.

[eluser]SethG[/eluser]
[quote author="VirtualDevel" date="1198828800"]Hey guys, I am working on one of my first web apps. It will have a few pages 5 or so that are all front end, this will be the main site. Then there will be an admin area with pages to update content on the front end pages. I am a bit unclear on how to proceed. Should I create on controller, i.e. site_main with functions for each of the main pages? Each with a model? Should I create seperate controllers for each of these pages? I also need to be able to allow the admin to create pages, should this be in its own controller? Thanks a ton, sorry for all the questions. I am new to MVC and CI..

V_Devl ~~~>.[/quote]

Given that you want to allow for the flexible creation of pages. I wonder if you might not (and can) approach it where you code a "Page" controller that allows for the creation, editing, and display of pages. I say "(and can)" because the trick, which is not addressed in your post, is if the content for those pages is all the same and can be handled with a consistent layout.