Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
How to build a dropdown list from a database field

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Hi,

Being a self-confessed newbie I'm looking for some advice and guidance Smile

I have a table in my database called Dams which is simply a list of dams throughout the world. One of the fields within that table is called Country; the country that the named dam is in. Simple enough right!

Now I want to put a search form on my site allowing me to search through the dams, and for the Country field I want to present it as a dropdown list, listing all the countries that occur in that field, in alphabetical order with a number after each country's name with the number of times that country occurs in the field. For example, there are 15 dams in Brazil so I want the dropdown entry for Brazil to read 'Brazil (15 dams)'. If there is only 1 occurrence of a country then no bracketed number will be listed against it ('Kazakhstan' for instance).

How do I go about doing this?

I'm not looking for someone to give me the code (although that would be nice!) I'm just looking for pointers on where to start really.

I'm also scratching my head a bit wondering where to put everything. I get that the dropdown list goes in the view file and the database interaction goes in the model, but how to pass the relevant data between them...?

All help and advice is gratefully received. Smile

Tony.

[eluser]cbwd[/eluser]
First of all, lookup form_dropdown() in http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-gui...elper.html if you haven't done already.

To get the content of the drop-down, use an SQL query. I'm assuming you know how to do this, if not have a go, and let me know if you get stuck (remember to post the code you tried and what problems you encountered).

Finally get the data from your query into an array and use that with your form_dropdown() to provide the options for your dropdown list.

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Thanks for your reply cbwd.