Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Beginner - How to position and style form_error messages

[eluser]tmfl[/eluser]
Hi,

I'm new to CodeIgniter and I'm trying to find out how I can position the form_error validation messages.

At the moment I have the following in my Controller

Code:
$this->load->library('form_validation');
  $this->form_validation->set_error_delimiters('<label class="error">','</label>');
  $this->form_validation->set_message('required', 'Required Field');

In my view I've got

Code:
<p>
    <label for="firstname">First Name</label>&lt;input type="text" name="firstname" value="&lt;?php echo set_value('firstname');?&gt;" size="20" /&gt;&lt;?php echo form_error('firstname'); ?&gt;"
</p>

This works up to a point....When I submit the form with the firstname field left blank I get an error message after the input field. Using CSS the error message is red producing the following

Label (First Name) - Empty Input Box - Red error message (Required Field)

My understanding was that the colour of the label text would change to red ....Why is it creating another label ?

Secondly, if I want to change the position of the error message to inside the input box, how do I achieve this ?

thanks in advance

tmfl

[eluser]boltsabre[/eluser]
Quote:My understanding was that the colour of the label text would change to red ....Why is it creating another label ?
Because you are echoing it out via:
Code:
&lt;?php echo form_error('firstname'); ?&gt;
So you've got your first label hard coded, followed by your input, and if validation fails, you're also echoing out the second label. Just use a span or div instead if you'd prefer?
Code:
$this->form_validation->set_error_delimiters('<div class="error">','</div>')

Quote:Secondly, if I want to change the position of the error message to inside the input box, how do I achieve this ?