Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Passing a variable from model to controller

[eluser]Dandy_andy[/eluser]
I'm quite new to Codeigniter and PHP in general but I've managed to code my way through a lot of functionality for my website and I'm learning every day. However, I'm struggling with something that is probably very very basic. I want to pass the results of a variable that is set as a text string from a model to my controller. The variable is simply an error message that I want to appear in a particular view (but which I don't want to load up separately - I just want to pass this through the controller)

The model code is:-

Code:
function checkmatch()

{
  //select from database field names
     $this -> db -> select('mem_id, username, password, credits, mem_type');
  //from database table
     $this -> db -> from('members');
  //comparison (in this case where username and password matches the POSTED username and password value from the form
     $this -> db -> where('username = ' . "'" . $_POST['username'] . "' AND password = '" . $_POST['password'] . "'");
     //limit number of return rows to 1
  $this -> db -> limit(1);

$usernamequery = $this -> db -> get();
   //logic control
    if($usernamequery -> num_rows() == 1)
   {
    //extract information from the relevant row in the database and convert to variable
    $member = $usernamequery->row_array();

//set session data
    $this->session->set_userdata('mem_id', $member['mem_id']);
    $this->session->set_userdata('username', $member['username']);
    $this->session->set_userdata('credits', $member['credits']);
    $this->session->set_userdata('mem_type', $member['mem_type']);

}
   else
   {
    //clear session data completely
    $this->session->sess_destroy();
    $error = 'some error of some sort';

//HOW DO I PASS THE ERROR MESSAGE ABOVE TO THE CONTROLLER SO THAT IT CAN BE PASSED ON TO A VIEW?

}
}

}

and the controller code is:-

Code:
<?php

class Login extends CI_Controller {