Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
mysql_escape_string error message?

[eluser]LF4[/eluser]
I took over a project that is on CI 1.7.2 and have been attempting to update a bunch of rows but get the following error.

Code:
A PHP Error was encountered
Severity: 8192

Message: mysql_escape_string(): This function is deprecated; use mysql_real_escape_string() instead.

Filename: mysqli/mysqli_driver.php
Line Number: 304

The CI code I have is below with the $data variable being an associative array of FieldName => Value. I've read other posts that I should change the dbdriver to mysqli which I tried and still get the same error.

What can I to allow the update to work with escaping? I'm new to CI and was wondering if a newer version would solve this issue how easy is it to update to the newest version?

Code:
foreach ($alldata as $data)
{
    $this->db->where('pricing_id',$priceID);
    $this->db->update('pricing',$data);
}
// I had to comment out this line as it was causing another issue. I'll be monitoring the DB connections to make sure this doesn't cause zombies.
//$this->db->close();

[eluser]skunkbad[/eluser]
Switch to mysqli or pdo mysql. See:

http://php.net/manual/en/function.mysql-...string.php

[eluser]LF4[/eluser]
I'm not manually using the escape string php funtion it's located in the mysql/mysqli.php files. I did attempt to change the dbdriver to mysqli in the database.php file.
Code:
$db['default']['dbdriver'] = "mysqli";

The error in my first post shows I was using mysqli.
Code:
Filename: mysqli/mysqli_driver.php

Are there other part of the CI configuration that I need to set?

Perhaps your php isn't compiled with mysqli or have the mysqli extension? In 2.1.3 mysqli_real_escape_string is used unless it is unavailable. If that's the case in 1.7.3, then you'll need to make it available.

[eluser]LF4[/eluser]