Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CI for highload projects, does it useless?

[eluser]smi23[/eluser]
Hello everyone. Recently, I was confused by the following statement:

"Any framework will decrease the page load time (by loading the processor) much more than pure PHP for highload projects (>50k visitors)." And by "pure PHP" was meant: no OOP, no MVC, no ORM - just the code needed to display required data (each time run mysql_query() directly and then immediately echo html via 'while'); minimize the variable usage and etc.

Please, tell me what you think, how do you handle with such a big traffic? I have no experience with highload projects and can't argue against that nonsense.

[eluser]solid9[/eluser]
First of all where did you get that statement?
There are many ways to speed up a website.
By optimizing the codes of CodeIgniter.
By optimizing the codes of ActiveRecords/MySQL.
By using cache.
By using mod_pagespeed https://developers.google.com/speed/pagespeed/mod
etc... etc...

It might perhaps decrease but very minimal.

[eluser]smi23[/eluser]
Thanks for the response.
I've came to a new job, and theirs head programmer tells me that this is the only way to make application fast. He's older than me on 8 years, and bunch of my arguments didn't convinced him that coding his way is ridiculous.

[eluser]Ewout[/eluser]
Well, first of all: changing the mind of a developer who's been doing something some way for such a long time is very hard... you can try to convince him, but it is realistic they just don't accept your arguments..

On topic of your question:
As solid9 said, it isn't as simple as the statement you started with. There is no reason why a codeigniter-based application couldn't be scaled for highload projects. But it depends on a bunch of efforts from your part:
Minimizing database queries
Caching obviously (automatic or own systems)
How extended a normal page request is with automatic library calls, etc ..