Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Adding simple class

[eluser]ariok[/eluser]
I all

I need some help trying add a simple class into my application.
I would like to know if is it possibile to INCLUDE a class without use load->library.

Example 1: If i need to create more than one instance of an object what i have to do ?
with load->library i could create a single instance of my class at once.

Example 2: If i need to include a class into a library what i have to do?
I would like to create object in standard way.. ( $obj = new myClass() ) .

thank you Big Grin

[eluser]BizComputing[/eluser]
It's funny that you should ask this question as I just completed porting a class into CI and was wrestling with the same question.

I am new to CI so bear with me if I'm totally off the reservation, but here goes.

I found 2 ideas that I am pursuing right now:

1) create an __autoload magic function in index.php. Plus of this is that I don't need to worry about require/include, just use and go. Negative of this is that it is PHP5 only.

2) Use load_class. This function is part of Common.php. This file is the first thing included by CI so should be available anywhere you want it. It takes 2 arguments, $class & $instantiate. From what I can tell, I should be able to call this with my class name and FALSE for instantiation. This will then follow the standard pathing etc. that any library class follows, so, if I drop my class into my application/library folder, I should be golden. My concerns about this approach is that Common is not documented so my concern is if my own use of load_class may break in some future release of CI.

I'm leaning toward #2, will report back what kind of results I get.

Possibly good news. I tested the load_class idea, and it worked fantastic.

Word of warning: make sure you pass the FALSE for no instantiation, otherwise CI will attempt to instantiate and will choke if your class name doesn't start with the CI_ prefix.