Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Expanding CMS to include membership system and other features

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
I built a simple CMS with codeigniter following a tutorial series at nettuts but now I want to expand it to implement a membership and user based system, where visitors can register/login edit their profiles; just play around the site. I also want to expand the site to add a couple features, as follows;

HMVC (to make it really modular)
add Caching
featured images and featured imaging for the articles
image editor for the html fields
RSS feeds
full text search
site map
15 level deep navigation support
categories
system support
multiple language support
... and lots more possible.

I really don't know how and where to start from. Since I'm very new to php/codeigniter/CMS/mysql/etc... I really need help in this. Anybody, everybody, please help me out guys. God richly bless you all.

[eluser]Harold Villacorte[/eluser]
If you "need" a CMS then just use a CMS. If you want to learn how to build your own in PHP I would start with echo "Hello World" and work my up from there. Codeigniter is not useful to anyone who does not know PHP. PHP itself is not just a powerful language but it is also a library with almost 6000 built in functions. It is a worthwhile effort to anyone who is interested in web development to learn it from the ground up.

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
I know that, I've gone through that, I just need to learn how to add a membership system to the site I've created. I know Rome was not built in a day. lol. Thanks though for your reply, but I still thirsty for help.

[eluser]Aken[/eluser]
Look at existing authentication libraries, don't rebuild what already exists (but definitely learn how it works).

[eluser]Harold Villacorte[/eluser]