Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
[noob] Problem moving application & system folders outside root

[eluser]johnnycho[/eluser]
A note before I begin: I've combed through the CI forum and Googled a variety of keyword combinations and I have yet to find someone experiencing the same problem I'm having. But if someone HAS brought this up before, I apologize and please send me the link.

I'm new to CI. I've installed the files on my server. One of the first things I did, as the CI documentation recommends, is to move my application and system folders outside the root. I then modified the appropriate path variables in the index.php. I'm fairly certain I did this properly, because the CI Welcome page shows up fine at http://mydomain.com/index.php.

I then started following the tutorial in the CI documentation (building the news app). I got as far as creating the header.php and footer.php files in /views/templates and the home.php and about.php files in /views/pages and then added the code for the Pages controller.

But when I go to http://mydomain.com/index.php/pages/view/about (as the doc says I can do), I get a 404 error.

Again, what's weird about this is that CI seems to have no trouble finding the welcome_message.php file in the /views directory. I can even make changes to the welcome_message.php file and those changes will show up fine on the Welcome page. So I think I have everything configured properly. But for some reason, it's not recognizing about.php and home.php.

What's weirder is that when I move the application and system folders to the root (same level as index.php) and modify the path variables accordingly, everything works fine -- I'm able to go to http://mydomain.com/index.php/pages/view/about and see the About page I created.