Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Custom Form Validation with Database

[eluser]terrycyleung[/eluser]
Hi Everyone,
I would like to ask for advice how can I create a custom function to check my appointment form with database.

Checking the start time and end time in my form with database "start_time" and "end_time" of the same appointment date.

Thank you so much.

[eluser]TheFuzzy0ne[/eluser]
You can call a database method from your validation callback. You can attach a callback to ONE of those fields, and use the callback pass both values to your database method.

If you attach the callback to the first field (but define your rules with the second field first), you should be able to check that there are no errors in the first field (by using form_error()), and then pass both values to the database to check if there's an overlap.

As I'm a beginner, I don't know which database function can help to me to do that, could everyone please help to write some sample for my reference, thank you so much.

I'm sorry, but I'm not going to write this for you. I expect you to give it a damn good try first, and then we'll help you sort it out.

The user guide is extremely clear and concise. Everything you need to know is in there. If not, there are lots of tutorials around that will help you.

Good starting points:
http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-gui...odels.html
http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-gui...ecord.html
http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-gui...ation.html

So, first of all you need a callback method that makes sure the times are in the format you expect them to be in. If the times are not in this format, a message should be displayed.

Assuming you are displaying your errrors inline, I would define my rules in this order:
Code:
$validation_rules = array(
    // ...
    array(
        'field' => 'end_time',
        'label' => 'End Time',
        'rules' => 'required|callback__check_time[end]',
    ),
    array(
        'field' => 'start_time',