Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
view in restricted access folder with special htaccess does not prompt password.

[eluser]vambavan[/eluser]
I am new to codeigniter and am facing an issue with creating a restricted views subfolder. I have the normal codeigniter htaccess at the CI root and I have some views that I want to restrict access to by using LDAP SSO password protection. So I have those views in a restricted/views under views folder subdirectory with another htaccess that prompts the user for user/password. I know the restricted/views htaccess works as I have tried it with some non codeigniter html and php scripts. However with codeigniter I can access the restricted views without any password prompt and the htaccess in the restricted/views folder seems to be getting ignored. I dont get any type of error when I try to access the restricted view. It gets displayed just like any other view.

Using Codeigniter 2.1.3 running on linux

Folder structure:

webroot:
.htaccess (root)
index.php
ci_app
application
views
restricted
views
.htaccess
restricted_view.php

My root htaccess:
RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ /index.php?$1 [L]

Restricted folder htaccess:
RewriteEngine Off
AuthName "ABC: Login with LDAP credentials"
AuthType Basic
AuthBasicProvider "ldap"
AuthLDAPURL ldap://ldap.company.com:389/o=company.com
#require valid-user
require ldap-group cn=GROUPNAME,ou=abcgroups,o=company.com

[eluser]TheFuzzy0ne[/eluser]
You should not be allowing direct access to anything in your application directory. You have all sorts of sensitive configuration options in there, and if, for some reason, PHP didn't parse the files, the server would serve them up as plain text. Ideally, your system and application directories should be outside of the Web root.