Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Has Anyone Got Some Simple AJAX Tutorial Resources?

[eluser]mdavis1982[/eluser]
Hi all...

I've been working with CodeIgniter for a few months now, and my first project is about to go live.

However, I'm completely baffled when it comes to AJAX functionality, and would like to get my head around it as I think it could be really important to what I'm doing.

Does anyone have some links to some great tutorials or articles about using AJAX with CodeIgniter?

I'm not really bothered which JavaScript library it works with (I'll probably just choose one and stick with it forever), but at the moment I have no clue how to integrate anything with CodeIgniter, or what to do with it once it is integrated!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks...

Matt

[eluser]Pascal Kriete[/eluser]
For a start there's http://video.derekallard.com/. Then you might want to check out some of sample applications - quite a few of those have ajax functionality.

In my personal opinion however, you shouldn't learn ajax on codeigniter, it just adds another layer of complexity. The way I learned was just a simple one page script such as this:
Code:
<?php

// This is our 'backend'
if(isset($_POST['ajax'])) {
    echo 'ajax works :D';
    exit;
}

?>
<html>
    <head>
        <title>Ajax Test</title>
        <script src="/prototype.js" type="text/javascript" charset="utf-8"></script>
        <script type="text/javascript" charset="utf-8">
        <!--

init = function() {
                $('callthatsucker').observe('click', ajaxify);
            }

ajaxify = function(event) {
                event.stop();
                var url = '';    //Self submit
                new Ajax.Request(url, {
                    method: 'post',
                    parameters: {ajax: 'true'},
                    onSuccess: function(transport) {
                        $('content').update(transport.responseText);
                    }
                });