Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
PHP end tag is no longer necessary in 1.6.2?

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
In 1.6.2 changelog mentioned all the php files' end tag have removed. I am wondering is that mean that it's no longer require anymore? If included, will it output any problem?

[eluser]Popcorn[/eluser]
It usually solves output problems due to whitespace.

It's recommended by Zend

[eluser]Firestorm ZERO[/eluser]
Can anyone just clarify for me though. From what I read PHP will auto close at the end of the file (which is why you can leave it out) but as a detailed coder I feel leaving the end tag out is like how IE will "fix" a HTML page without end tags.

Is the only reason for this is to prevent if you accidentally put whitespace after the close tag?

[eluser]xwero[/eluser]
the <?php ?> escapes the default html output so you have to look at it like this
Code:
<?php echo 'one'; ?><?php echo 'two'; ?><?php echo 'three'; ?>
When you leave out the end tag it will read like
Code:
<?php echo 'one'; echo 'two'; echo 'three'; ?>
That is my understanding leaving out the end tag.

[eluser]mironcho[/eluser]
Firestorm ZERO, let me try to clarify.
If you have file like this:
Code:
// file begin
<?php

class SomeLib
{
        function SomeLib()
        {
                // doing something..
        }
}

?>

// file end
notice the extra line at the end of file.
If you load/include this file, one empty line will be echoed to the browser (if output buffering isn't turned on) and you will have problems with setting/sending headers to the client ("headers already sent" type error).
So omitting php end tags will solve this problem. E.g. (look at the end - php end tag is omitted ):

http://dev.ellislab.com/svn/CodeIgniter/...lendar.php

[eluser]Derek Jones[/eluser]