Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
A few questions about code igniter

[eluser]kertz[/eluser]
Hi
I'm new to CI and I've been using Symfony for a few months. I liked CI far more better from what I knew so far. But te problem is according to http://www.phpit.net/article/ten-differe...rameworks/ CI does not support ORM and has no authentication module.

I don't know now CI has or not? I wish to know if CI now provides this support. Also does CI alow the use of XML schema for databases which can be converted to SQL as Symfony does?

[eluser]Michael Wales[/eluser]
CI does not have ORM or an Authentication model built-in, but there are a lot of third-party libraries that provide these options.

Some searching around the forums will return quite a few options.

[eluser]kertz[/eluser]
if plugins are there then its fine... what about the XML Schema? Does CI support the use of XML schema for database design?

[eluser]xwero[/eluser]
I don't understand why not having a ORM solution would be a problem. ORM adds more weight to the page generating but like the authentication there are third party apps for it.

I don't think there isn't a xml to sql function but it wouldn't be to hard if you use the dbforge methods

[eluser]Michael Wales[/eluser]
Once again, no.

See, rather than the other frameworks that lock into their conventions, CodeIgniter allows you to come up with your own. If you wanted - sure you could write a small library that accepted an XML file to setup your database - you could even use Active Record and DBForge to make it work across all of the supported databases.